Maybe If I Were: A Poem

Maybe if I were

 

            The stars in the night sky dancing around like fireflies

 

Maybe if I were

 

            Autumn leaves bound by the sap of a Maple tree

 

Maybe if I were

 

            A cool summer breeze gently caressing your skin

 

Maybe if I were

 

            The colorful hues of a setting sun over a golden beach

 

Maybe if I were

 

            Your favorite pair of running shoes taking you to new distances

 

Maybe if I were

 

            A cold beer pressed against your lips, drinking me in sip by sip

 

Maybe if I were

 

            The sensation of the winning play to your favorite game

 

Maybe if I were

 

            Lyrics to a hauntingly seductive melody that courses through your veins

 

Maybe if I were

 

            Worn binding of your favorite book, the one you always take a second look

 

Maybe if I were

 

            The letters on this page, making the words come to life

 

Maybe if I were

 

            All of these and so much more

 

                        There’d be a fighting chance of winning this war

 

Leave a Reply

