Counterfeit View: A Poem

Shattered pieces of reflective glass portray a counterfeit version of you

Only you are unable to see, so you believe this fake portrait is truth

Fear permeates your soul as you continue down the rabbit hole

You struggle against the chains you’ve created in your mind

Guilt crashes around and unbound as waves crash against a rocky coast

Villianizing yourself to me thinking that I can’t see clearly

You’ve got preconceived notions you think I believe

I can see through the broken pieces and your kaleidoscope of colors shine through

There’s a clarity in my mind, a truth that I’ve always known

I’ll piece together your bloodstained, saline slivers

It’s time I show you the inaccuracies of your own view

Leave a Reply

